Diary of a school bus driver Day 3

Ok so last night I’m driving up the main road in our area, on the way to drop off my K-4 students. This road is 55mph so I’m going 60.(just kidding) Remember, it takes 12 minutes to get to my first drop. It’s about 75F outside,  so every window on the bus is open. I hear a ruckus, and look up into my rear view mirror which allows me to see everything that’s going on. There is a maelstrom of papers flying around the inside of the bus. Kids are diving under their seats grabbing papers and trying to bundle them together. Those who are not diving for paper are hanging out in the aisle, watching the show. The kids who sit by the window are laying on top of their seatmates also trying to see.
One of the 4th graders in the back is trying to get everyone to pass the papers to him. They’re obviously his. One kid acts as if he’s going to throw the papers back to him and D is frantically shaking his head. He sees me watching in the mirror. Some of the boys are snatching handfuls of what is now a WAD of papers, ripping chunks off and throwing them around like confetti. Finally the papers gets to the back of the bus and D puts them in his backpack. Now while this had all been going on I’ve been trying to find a safe place to pull over so that I can get control of the situation. When I see my spot, I turn my blinker on, and pull into the gravel lot bouncing through the pot holes.

One little kindergartner says “Why are we stopping? Are we getting gas?”

I stand up and he looks at me in all seriousness and say ” I do not see a gas pump Miss M”.

I just shake my head and work my way to the back of the bus and ask D “what is going on???”

D – “I was trying to do my homework”

me – “with all the windows open?”

D – just shrugs

So I commence with the “never do homework on the bus because you will lose all your papers out the window, and you are not supposed to have your pencils out on the bus because you’re going to get stabbed in the eye.”
I also tell them that they are grounded from talking ( btw…I GROUND my kids, so while I’m giving them heck they kind of think this is funny to be grounded by their bus driver) and tell them to stay behind the barrier ( their seats) and if I so much as see a head, shoulder, knee, leg, hand or backpack I am going to write them up. I really do hate being so mean, but that was out of HAND!

Whew. That made me tired. Now I still have to drive them all home, but I’ll tell you, it was the quietest day so far. It was very peaceful. Maybe I should holler more often.

Nah.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Castro  On September 25, 2011 at 11:32 am

    Greetings! Is it okay that I go a bit off topic? I’m trying to read your post on my Macbook but it doesn’t display properly, any suggestions? Cheers! Milford

    • Drive Me Crazy  On September 28, 2011 at 5:21 pm

      To be honest with you…no idea. This blogging thing is totally new to me and I’m still trying to figure it out. Hope you get to read it!

  • Drive Me Crazy  On September 17, 2011 at 3:05 pm

    Hey! My first comment! Thanks Angela!

  • Angela Alvarado  On September 15, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    Good job! You’re keeping those kids safe!

Leave a Reply

